bloc // January 26, 2007

21st Prix Ars Electronica 2007 ⁄⁄

Location: international


Since 1987, the Prix Ars Electronica has served as an interdisciplinary platform for everyone who uses the computer as a medium for implementing and designing their creative projects at the interface of art, technology and society.

The competition is organized by the Ars Electronica Center and ORF’s Upper Austria Regional Studio in collaboration with the O.K Center for Contemporary Art and the Brucknerhaus Linz, and the prizes are awarded during the Ars Electronica Festival each year.

The event calls for entries in eight categories, including a youth competition and a grant for young creative talents. In 2007 Ars Electronica and the Ludwig Boltzmann Institute Media.Art.Research ( announce the Prix Ars Electronica Media.Art.Research Award, a prize for outstanding theoretical work on the subject of media art.

With over 34,365 entries since 1987 and prize money in 2007 totalling 122,500 euros, the competition offers the largest cash purse for cyberarts worldwide. Each year, six Golden Nicas, twelve Awards of Distinction and approximately 70 Honorary Mentions as well as a grant for the category [the next idea] and the Media.Art.Research Award are presented to participants.

The Prix Ars Electronica calls for entries and awards prizes in the following seven categories:

* Computer Animation / Film / VFX
* Interactive Art
* Digital Musics
* Hybrid Art
* Digital Communities
* u19 ´ freestyle computing
* [the next idea] Grant
* Media.Art.Research Award

Full submission guidelines and online entry are available on the website:

Deadline for Submissions: 9 March 2007

Area: not in wales